Bento box ‘challenge’

Bento box Challenge (No.52)

On Friday, fellow Bento blogger, over at Veggie Bento, posted her weekly Cupcake Friday post and the cupcake in question was in a Cupcake-to-go holder.

cupcaketogo

This got me thinking…

I have one of those cases.

And I love bento…

I would LOVE to make a mini bento in my cupcake holder!!

So I set myself a challenge.

And I made it:
IMG00327

IMG00328

IMG00329

IMG00330

My best food photography yet, if I do say so myself πŸ™‚ I even put together a background πŸ˜€ with a mini vase of flowers. Go me!

This mini bento features two small onigiri cubes (made with a rice cube maker), the one on top has edamame in and they both have a strip of nori wrapped round them. Round the sides, I have put sliced cucumber, sliced carrot, sliced mange-tout and a couple of slices of smoked sausage.

This is by no means a full lunch bento, but it will accompany my lunch today and I will be extra excited to eat something this pretty! It is just the right size for a snack and I’m so pleased that I was able to make a bento in the cupcake holder! Just to confirm, the lid does go on! I didn’t want to stack it too high just in case it didn’t!

IMG00333

See? πŸ™‚ (It’s got a weeny it of condensation because it’s been in the fridge, but that’s ok).

What different containers have you used for bento? And what was their originalΒ purpose?

Hope you enjoyed my personal challenge πŸ˜› I sure did! Thanks for the inspiration Veggie Bento! πŸ˜€

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Bento box ‘challenge’

  1. That’s amazing! Super awesome job! Cupcake on! Bento on!

  2. eclecticlamb says:

    So cute! Such a great idea. I think that the only different container I used was a take out container I used for my terrarium bento. http://eclecticlamb.com/2012/04/17/terrarium-bento/ But after seeing your post, I am starting to think about other containers.

  3. What a cool challenge and a beautiful bento to boot! Well done!

  4. […] to go. Then the awesome Sushi Sushi Bento decided to see if a bento could be made in them… https://sushisushibento.wordpress.com/2013/05/29/bento-box-challenge/ for her awesome creation, and here’s mine for a less tidy, but still tasty snack bento with […]

  5. bentoamour says:

    This is so freaking cute! I am definitely going to have to try this!

  6. […] Bento box ‘challenge’ (sushisushibento.wordpress.com) […]

  7. This is plain awesomeness! Looks brilliant.

Fancy a chat?

