Bad Bento, why you make my stomach icky? (No.50)

I may have made my stomach icky :S I had this bento last week, 2 days in a row (and the evening prior to the first bento) and now my stomach is out of sync ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Bit of background: I have no gallbladder, so digesting high carb or high fat items is difficult for my digestive system anyway BUT I though I’d be ok. I had 3 pieces of pizza one night, 2 the next day for lunch, and the last 2 pieces for lunch the day after. Perfectly normal right? I even had salad on the side! (And garlic dip yummmmm), and perhaps a katsu ball :O don’t tell anyone!

IMG00308

Well those few days of ‘indulgence’ have upset the balance of my digestive system ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’m not in pain but I’m not comfortable and I’m not digesting anything right :S So my mum and I checked back on the nice big list of things I maybe should avoid eating and guess what? I eat some of those things all the time ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

IMG00307

The food items I eat a lot of that are on the almost no-go list for gallbladder-less people are peanut butter, raw vegetables, dairy products, eggs and caffeine. I have definitely not been limiting my intake of these recently and, on top of the pizza last week, my stomach has staged a protest.

So now, for ย a few days, I’m going to be avoiding all the ‘bad’ foods to allow my insides to reset and hopefully get back to normal. I’m also going to be taking HUGE tablets (soya lecithin) to help me digest the food I can eat.

Here’s to a few days (hopefully) of chicken noodle soup, passata, well cooked vegetables and lots of green tea and smoothies.

Bring back my comfortable insides!

Have you got any allergies or digestive difficulties with certain foods?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “Bad Bento, why you make my stomach icky? (No.50)

  1. I have no gallbladder either. Funnily enough, I consume lots of raw vegetables, eggs, and caffeine. A nutritionist told me eggs are good because the lecithin they contain emulsifies the fat and helps digestion. What works for me is small meals with low-fat foods. I have been there where things just don’t feel right after a few days of richer foods in a row. A day or so of low fat foods and lots of water and you’ll be back to normal again soon.

    • I’m taking Soya Lecithin capsules at the moment to help with my digestion, but they are huge :S. I think eggs and caffeine especially are things I should limit anyway as those were my in my list of gallbladder attack trigger foods, so my body already had trouble with them. I am drinking lots of water and green tea ๐Ÿ™‚ and starting to incorporate smaller meals again. Noodles are a saviour at the moment (as I don’t eat a lot of bread or pasta) and I cooked up a big batch of quinoa too (I’m going to try your quinoa salad, with the vegetables cooked, tomorrow). Thank you for your comment ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. fatbirdthin says:

    Poor you, I’m feeling your pain. I can’t eat wheat – especially wholegrain. I was starving last week so popped some of my husband’s pasta into my soup. I should know better as I had a swollen stomach the next day. My colleagues call it my pasta baby!

    • I don’t eat a lot of pasta or bread either (because I’m not a fan) and when I do eat them, they cause me issues too (hence the bad pizza). We should learn really shouldn’t we? ๐Ÿ˜› Haha, pasta baby, I like it!

  3. ellenmeow says:

    Sorry to hear about your tummy/gall bladder troubles. I would not have thought raw veggies would be on that list. I always thought you were just suppose to stay away from really fatty bad for you foods. I guess I just thought that because my friend who had her’s removed always talks about how she misses eating mcdonald’s big macs. Hope you get back on track soon!

    • Thank you for your sympathy. I eat a lot of raw vegetables, which take longer to digest than cooked veg anyway, but they should not make up the majority of my diet (which they do usually). High fat foods do cause a problem, but for me, so do high carb items, eggs and caffeine ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I can still eat high fat/carb items, just very few and far between and I need to be wary of the side effects of the digestion of those items when I do eat them. Thank you!

  4. Hope you feel well soon!

  5. I did not know pizza could be put into a bento! I hope you feel better pizza can have so bad side effects…

  6. bentodays says:

    Oh dear, hope you feel better soon!

  7. […] These next few bentos will be ones from a few weeks ago as I’m still on a bland (and not very photogenic) diet to sort my silly tummy out. […]

Fancy a chat?

