Homemade Cereal Bars

Just a quick post today, as I’m on a fast day and food pictures make me huuuuungry 😛 haha, I joke, I’m good, no starving going on here.

So, the other day I made cereal bars. They contained the least ingredients possible and were very natural tasting compared to the manufactured stuff you get. I did get the recipe from one of the blogs I follow, but I saw it a while ago so I’ve forgotten. If you come across the blog and recipe, please let me know!

IMG00212

Box of shortbread and homemade cereal bars 🙂

IMG00213

Heart shaped cereal bars 😀 so cute!

Ingredients:

– x2 pack instant oats (I used blueberry flavour)

– x1 banana

– half a handful of mixed nuts and raisins

Method:

– Mash the banana to almost liquid consistency

– Mix in the 2 packs of instant oats and mixed nuts and raisins

– Put mix in a baking tray and bake until firm ( I advise using a very small baking tray or individual silicon cups)

I think next  time I will make them thicker, or bake them less as they were a bit hard (not crunchy), but  they were yummy 🙂 Real flavour (aside from the blueberry oatmeal) and no added sugar. I also think I would use plain instant oats next time too.

Give it a try 🙂

What simple recipes do you love?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Homemade Cereal Bars

  1. bentodays says:

    I was contemplating making something similar a few weeks back but have not done so, thanks for sharing your recipe and tips! It’d come in handy when I get around to making some 😉

  2. myoldmate says:

    These look amazing, I’m definitely going to give them a try. I normally make mine with peanut butter and honey to hold them together but banana is such a good idea!

    • Thank you! Yes, please do; I’m going to add some peanut butter to mine next time, I love it!

      • myoldmate says:

        I’ve just made me these now and they’re so good! I have some heart shaped ones and I made my boyfriend some man shaped ones so he wasn’t ashamed eating them at work ha!
        Peanut butter is supposed to be really good with lowering the GI of fruit as well so you don’t get such spikes in blood sugar!

      • That’s great! Oh I didn’t know that about PB, that’s really useful to know, thanks! I’m going to make bar/square shaped ones next time so that my brother can have some too!

  3. […] to do, (take cold porridge, buy some at, shock-horror, McDonald’s), when I stumbled upon this recipe for breakfast biscuits on a blog  which I follow which included banana, raisins and, best of all, porridge […]

Fancy a chat?

