Protein Balls

The other day, I posted a Bento that contained one of my newest creations!! Protein balls 🙂

I have seen quite a few recipes around the interweb, most of which sound yummy, but I fancied just making it up as I go along, it’s much more fun that way.

20130210_163904

So for people who enjoy reading other peoples experiments and would want to make similar yummy protein ball thingies, here are the ingredients I used:

– Dates

– Raisins

– Unsalted Peanuts

– Peanut Butter

– Milled Flax Seed

– Oats (any type)

All I did was put the dates in a blender (with the chopper attachment) and ‘blended’ them until they were diced finely. Then I added all the dry ingredients to the same blender (excluding the peanut butter), blended again. Then a slowly added peanut butter and continued blending until I got the correct consistency for making into balls.

Not very precise measurements (sorry again!) but they were so good!

After making them into fairly small balls, I kept them in a sealed container in the fridge and they’ve lasted over a week. I try to ration them out because they are so yummy and would be eaten so quickly if I didn’t!

I might add protein powder to them next time as it’s usually the Bf who eats them before or after the gym 🙂

What creations have you made lately?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Protein Balls

  1. I made something similar and yummy today. It was raw ‘gingerbread cookies’ – similar idea to your protein balls – made with dates, nuts and fresh ginger – so good!

  2. bentodays says:

    Looks interesting! Do these have to be consumed on the spot? Wondering if they will stick together if kept for a day or so.

Fancy a chat?

